seriously?

October 13, 2009

ok, blog.  it’s been awhile, and i’m not promising that i’m back for good.  the thing is, blog, i don’t get a lot from you and i’m at a place in my life where i need my relationships to be fruitful, two-sided, i need them to bring good things to me, not just guilt because i’m neglectful or absent.  blog, i want us to share the wild times of yesteryear, to communicate in that way we did once where you were the place i ran when things were good or bad, when i had a great link to share, a funny photo, or a you’ve got to be kidding me story to tell.  so, in the spirit of the latter, blog, here’s a doozy for you.

i found out today that, on friday, a student in my building told a fellow teacher that he would “put a gun in [his] fucking mouth.”  this student was NOT removed from the building, however, he was just moved to a new class.  wanna know why, blog?  it’s not because the administration or district believes in second chances, or that this kid could be rehabilitated.  oh no, that would simply be too positive.  no, blog, you will be shocked to hear that this student was kept in the building because our district is trying to keep as many kids as possible in school to keep our graduation numbers up.  yep, blog, you heard right.  the district thinks it’s ok to keep kids who threaten teachers with violence in the building as long as it decreases our dropout rate.  i’m not sure i see the correlation, but it doesn’t matter what i see, blog, because I AM EXPENDABLE.  my life, and the lives of my fellow teachers and our 1400 students, are not nearly as important as the numbers put out by the state about graduation rates.

so there you have it, blog.  i learned where i stand this week, and now you know where you stand, too.  give me a place to go and i’ll fill you up with all the shit i can;t believe happens in my life.  word.

2 Responses to “seriously?”

  1. lorlie6 said

    God, shannondg, what an ordeal. I do know what you’re saying about expendability-I used to teach Special Ed in Alabama, and it was all about the numbers, the money, the district-blah, blah, blah.
    I also lived in Stockton, Ca, when some crazy went nuts on the students and one of the teachers…
    You are a precious resource, don’t forget it.
    Laurel

  2. Alison said

    I’m so sorry, Crazy Aunt Shannon! Knowing the impact you made on us Lovewellites, there is not a doubt in my mind that the students you teach find you irreplaceable. I’m appalled about that situation, to say the least.

Leave a Reply

